Melissa

 



I mostly like to read fiction, but I will read pretty much anything if it catches my eye. The only thing I can't stand reading is a self-help book! Some of my favorite themes are time travel, vampires, feminism/women's studies, science, knitting and origami.
 

 


Use of Weapons (Culture) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780316030571
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Orbit - July 28th, 2008

Special Circumstances agent Cheradenine Zakalwe is being sought out from hiding for one last job in the Culture's unending quest to influence the galaxy to their own ends.

Alternating timelines describe his idyllic childhood life on his home world, and the present-day race to find him and salvage the situation in a star system on the brink of chaos.

Zakalwe's clout with a prominent member of Voerenhutz society may be the only way to avert disaster without exposing the Culture's interference.

Both threads lead towards the same focal point: an event that emerges hazily and piecemeal from recollection as the defining moment in his life, the disaster that led him to leave everything behind and strike out into the unknown.


An Absolutely Remarkable Thing: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781524743444
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton - September 25th, 2018

With abundant wit and humor, Hank Green's debut novel is ostensibly about big, mysterious, possibly extraterrestrial robots and humanity's quest to understand them. However, where this book really shines is in its exploration of how online image distorts real people, the polarizing affects of internet discourse, and the power of human cooperation.


The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316310277
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 2nd, 2018

Holly Black's heroines are some of my absolute favorites.  In The Cruel Prince we meet Jude, a human trapped in the fae court of the High King Eldred.  Raised alongside the beautiful and cruel children of the high fae, Jude learns to be brave, ruthless, and unpredictable.  As she gets drawn deeper into court intrigues that could cost her her life, she learns just how far she will go to take back the power that the fae have over her.


Radio Silence Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062335715
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperTeen - March 28th, 2017

Not a love story! Rather, a love letter to the oddballs among us, those creative and unconventional souls who too often face intolerance from family members and peers alike. Fabulous representation of LGBTQ teens.


Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?: The inspiration for the films Blade Runner and Blade Runner 2049 Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780345404473
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Del Rey - May 28th, 1996

A dark, yet strangely uplifting novel about emotions, human nature, and our ties to each other and the world around us. The setting: a dystopian Earth plagued by nuclear fallout, where few humans remain and many real things have been replaced by artificial counterparts. It's best to go into this book without any expectations based on the film adaptation -- they share a setting and some of the characters, but are otherwise totally different.


A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses) Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781619635197
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - May 2nd, 2017

Prepare to be taken in a completely unexpected (and MUCH BETTER) direction from where we left Feyre at the end of ACOTAR. If you've read spoilers you might be a tad skeptical (I definitely was!) but trust me. The ending will keep you reading into the wee hours and breathelss with excitement.


The Invisible Library (The Invisible Library Novel #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101988640
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ace - June 14th, 2016

A purely pleasurable page-turner for bibliophiles with a fantasy bent!


Something New: Tales from a Makeshift Bride Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781626722491
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: First Second - May 3rd, 2016

Something New is a funny, heartwarming graphic memoir about the author's unconventional journey down the aisle. Complete with asides about wacky wedding traditions through the ages, this tale sheds the preciousness that often accompanies wedding stories in favor of a more nuanced and relatable take.


Sleeping Giants (The Themis Files #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101886717
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Del Rey - January 24th, 2017

A fantastic novel of discovery and suspense, told in an epistolary style reminiscent of World War Z.  When a small girl falls through the ground and onto a giant, mysterious metal hand, scientists must try to figure out where it came from, what source of power fuels it's eerie glow, and what the cryptic symbols surrounding it mean.  The hand remains an enigma for many years, until one scientist (the young girl from the beginning, now grown up and a brilliant physicist) makes a breakthrough, setting off a chain of events in which opposing factions vie for control of an alien power that nobody can control.  The thrilling conclusion will leave you eagerly anticipating the sequel!


Chainmail Bikini: The Anthology of Women Gamers Cover Image
By Hazel Newlevant (Editor), Sophie Yanow (Contribution by), Jane Mai (Contribution by)
$20.00
ISBN: 9781513600123
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Alternative Comics - April 12th, 2016

A collection of graphic essays, written and illustrated by women, about their experiences in gaming. They cover a diverse range of game styles, from RPGs such as Dungeons & Dragons, to live action role playing, video and arcade games, and board games. There is such a fascinating diversity in the stories they have to tell and the ways they draw them. Plus, they get extra points for inclusivity - both trans women and gender queer people are included.


Packing for Mars: The Curious Science of Life in the Void Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780393339918
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - April 4th, 2011

My favorite, to date, of Mary Roach's books!  She explores the history of space travel in a way nobody else has - she celebrates the wonderfully absurd aspects of our quest to reach the final frontier.


Lumberjanes Vol. 2: Friendship To The Max Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781608867370
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: BOOM! Box - October 13th, 2015

I was sad to find that Lumberjanes v.1 left me a bit underwhelmed. Fortunately, #2 is everything I was hoping for and more! Hilarious, sweet, filled with the power of female friendships AND great for all ages! Plus – now with an adorable animal sidekick! YOWZA!


Stardust Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780061689246
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - December 23rd, 2008

This is one of my all time favorite fantasy novels. Neil Gaiman tells a magical and enchanting tale, with plenty of humor thrown in."


Ready Player One: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780307887443
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Broadway Books - June 5th, 2012

This book has all the essential elements of an epic adventure: giant robots, virtual reality, lots of action, good v.s. evil, puzzles and riddles, a heavy dose of 80's nostalgia, and butt-kicking female characters. You won't be able to put it down!


The Magician's Land: A Novel (Magicians Trilogy #3) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780147516145
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - June 9th, 2015

The Magician's Land is Lev Grossman's stunning conclusion to his Magician's trilogy.  Fans of C.S. Lewis and J.K. Rowling will appreciate this tongue-in-cheek homage to all things wizardly.  Grossman does not disappoint with the ending of his series (as is so often the case!).


Seconds: A Graphic Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780345529374
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ballantine Books - July 15th, 2014

Seconds is so wonderful!  Actually, I love this book so much that nothing I can think of to say about it does it justice.

So I'll just have to agree with Scott McCloud, who said it was "Adorable, haunting, funny, and beautiful. A perfect recipe for a great graphic novel."  If you've read Bryan Lee O'Malley's other stuff, it has the supernatural undertones (albeit more pronounced) of Lost At Sea and the quirky humor of Scott Pilgrim.  And for those who are not familiar with O'Malley's work, or don't usually read graphic novels, consider picking it up!  You will probably love it.


Adulting: How to Become a Grown-up in 468 Easy(ish) Steps Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781455516902
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Grand Central Publishing - May 7th, 2013

For those of us who think everybody else has it together and we're the only ones pretending.  Easy, non-judgmental advice for that awful 'trying to become a real grown-up' stage.


The Casual Vacancy Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780316228589
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Back Bay Books - July 23rd, 2013

A big novel about a small town...
When Barry Fairbrother dies in his early forties, the town of Pagford is left in shock.
Pagford is, seemingly, an English idyll, with a cobbled market square and an ancient abbey, but what lies behind the pretty facade is a town at war.
Rich at war with poor, teenagers at war with their parents, wives at war with their husbands, teachers at war with their pupils...Pagford is not what it first seems.
And the empty seat left by Barry on the parish council soon becomes the catalyst for the biggest war the town has yet seen. Who will triumph in an election fraught with passion, duplicity, and unexpected revelations?
J. K. Rowling's first novel for adults is blackly comic, thought-provoking, and constantly surprising.


Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780425261019
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - March 5th, 2013

I'm normally not a memoir person but this one is jam-packed with hilarious stories. I actually found myself laughing out loud several times (which doesn't usually happen!). Case in point: the picture on the cover is of her taxidermied mouse "Hamlet von Schnitzel".


Shades of Grey: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143118589
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - March 2011

This book is so great! 

In Chromatacia your social status is dictated by your ability to perceive colors.  Protagonist Eddie Russet, a "red", along with a mysterious "grey", Jane, discover that not everything in their world is as it seems.  FILLED with suspense, vibrant imaginings and dark humor.