The Ghost Road (Paperback)

The Ghost Road Cover Image
$9.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Ghosts, a family curse, buried secrets -- and two girls who have to figure it all out. A book from an acclaimed author, for fans of Coraline, Doll Bones and The Night Gardener.

For the first time, Ruth is heading to Newfoundland to stay with family she's never met instead of spending the summer traveling with her dad. When she arrives, she finds Newfoundland is very different from her life in Toronto--people there are much more friendly, but also superstitious, believing in ghosts and The Sight and family curses. Ruth's cousin Ruby is also staying for the summer, and the two discover they have a lot in common: they both lost their moms when they were two years old, they're the same age and they even like the same food. But while Ruby believes in spirits and fairies, Ruth believes in science and cold, hard facts.

When they find ominous information on some tombstones in the local cemetery, Ruth and Ruby start investigating their family's past and discover that twin girls are born in every generation, and every set of twins dies young, leaving their children without mothers. What's more, one of the twins always has The Sight and can see the Ghost Road that leads to the mysterious lost settlement of Slippers Cove. What happened there? What does it have to do with their family? And who is the ghostly presence that keeps visiting Ruth late at night?

The answers lie somewhere along the Ghost Road . . . if they can only find it.

About the Author


CHARIS COTTER grew up beside a cemetery and has been living with ghosts ever since. She studied English in university and went to drama school in London, England. Her spooky, suspenseful first novel, The Swallow, was nominated for many awards and received countless honors, and her second novel, The Painting, is "full of emotional truth and connection" according to Kirkus Reviews. Charis has worked extensively in schools and libraries from coast to coast, using drama and storytelling to bring her books to life. Her performances of Newfoundland ghost stories have thrilled audiences of all ages, from Florida to Vancouver Island. She lives at the end of the road beside the ocean, in one of the most haunted parts of Newfoundland.

Praise For…


One of CCBC’S Best Books for Kids & Teens (Spring 2019)

PRAISE FOR The Ghost Road: 

Cotter’s complex and engrossing story is enhanced by its superbly presented isolated Newfoundland setting and a satisfying dose of ghosts.” --Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews

 “The windswept shores of Newfoundland and the Irish folklore add just enough mystique to the setting, making this a winning choice for readers looking for a mystery with a chilly atmosphere but a happy ending” --The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Cotter’s story is as coloured with the culture of her setting as it is with the drama of visions, storms and plot twists.” --Toronto Star

“A must-read for adventure seekers!” --School Library Connection

“[A] story about shared family trauma . . . . steeped in a chilling mystery that esteems its middle-grade readers.” --Booklist

“Readers with an interest in ghosts will be enthralled by this fast-paced story that combines the enchantment of old-time Newfoundland with some spine-chilling drama.” --Resource Links

“[A] delightful ghost story full of mystery and intrigue, with just the right amount of creepiness.” --CM Magazine 

"[A] subtle and effective account of empowerment and strength.” --Quill & Quire

"Be prepared to stay up all night with a flashlight, as you will find it hard to stop reading this suspenseful story." --The Telegram (Newfoundland and Labrador)
Product Details
ISBN: 9780735263253
ISBN-10: 0735263256
Publisher: Tundra Books
Publication Date: September 3rd, 2019
Pages: 368